NAVRATRI DURGA MATA

Navratri’ in Sanskrit means ‘nine nights’. On these nine nights, people observe fast and offer special prayer to the ‘Nine Forms of Maa Durga’.

Goddess Durga is an incarnation of Goddess Parvati. She took the avatar of Devi Durga to destroy Mahishasura. These are the days- when peoples are getting full of energy and enjoy themselves.

goddess shailputri

Goddess Shailputri is the first manifestation of Goddess Durga. She holds a Trishul in one hand and a lotus in the other and rides a bull called Nandi. Goddess Parvati was born as the daughter of Himalaya and in Sanskrit, Shail means the mountain, thus she is known as Shailputri.

Praying to Shailaputri brings strength and  commitment. When the mind is uncertain, chanting the name of Devi helps the mind to be centred and dedicated. It gives us strength, courage, and calm.”

 Mantra is:

वन्दे वाञ्छितलाभाय चन्द्रार्धकृतशेखराम्। वृषारुढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्रीं यशस्विनीम्॥
Vande Vanchhitlabhay Chandrardhkritshekhram. Vrisharudham Shuldharam Shailputri Yashswinim.

By offering of pure ghee on the foot of Goddess devotees are blessed with a life free of diseases and illness and get strength and vitality.

2. Goddess Brahmacharini
The second day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Brahmacharini. The goddess walks bare feet with a rudraksh mala in one hand and a sacred Kamandala in the other. She has a meditative aspect and her face manifests bliss and a calm strength .

Since Devi spends most of her time meditating, this day is good for meditation. Devi blesses those who undertake fasts, chant mantra Brahmacharini Devi takes away the sufferings of her devotees.

या देवी सर्वभू‍तेषु माँ ब्रह्मचारिणी रूपेण संस्थिता।

नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नम:।।

3.  Goddess Chandraghanta
The third day of Navratri is dedicated to  Goddess Chandraghanta. She is a fierce 10-armed goddess with a crescent moon on her forehead, which gives her the name Chandraghanta. She rides on a tiger to destroy all evil and wicked.

Chandraghanta Devi is the essence of beauty, charm and grace.. It is the energy of Mother Divine that attracts us. She blesses those who pray to her protecting them from harm’s way. she remove our negative feelings, and fights injustice, misery, and suffering in the world. She is a symbol of bravery and courage also.

देवी चन्द्रघण्टायै नमः॥
Om Devi Chandraghantayai Namah

 4: Kushmunda

 The 4th day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Kushmunda. She is known to  be the creative power of universe . Kushmunda is associated to the endownment of vegetation on earth and hence, Devi Kushmanda is known as ashtabhuja . She is depicted as having eight arms and sits on a Tiger . Pumpkin is also called kushmanda because pumpkin is the vegetable that gives you most prana or energy and vitality.

Devi Kushmanda denotes dharma and justice. She holds a rosary in one hand, blessing her devotees with with ashtasiddhis (the eight supernatural powers as elaborated in ancient yoga) and navniddhis (nine different types of wealth) .

 Goddess Kushmunda worship brings prosperity, pleasures, power. She destroy all ailments and hurdles of devotees.


कूष्माण्डायै नम:।।


5. Skandmata 

Skandamata is four-armed and rides on a lion. She arries a Lotus. Her one hand is in Blessing Posture. She possesses four arms out of which two often hold the Lotus flowers. One of her hand is always in the Boon-Conferring gesture and with the other . She hold her son Skanda in her lap. Skandamata represents the very origin of knowledge and Kriya the principle of action or activity. She is the motherly energy. She is also the mother of all the six systems of knowledge- nyaya, yog, sankhya, vaisheshika,  vedanta and uttar mimamsa. These are the six bodies of knowledge, which includes the study of music, astrology, and many other disciplines, the meters, phonetics, among sixty-four different disciplines of art and science.

या देवी सर्वभूतेषु मां स्कंदमाता रूपेण संस्थिता।

  1. Katyayani  

Katyayani Mata is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri. Goddess Parvati took this form to kill the demon Mahishasura. This form is considered quite violent and hence, Maa Katyayani is also known as the warrior goddess. Katyayani Maa rides a majestic lion. She is depicted with 4 arms, where the left 2 arms carry lotus & a sword, and right 2 arms stay in Varada & Abhaya Mudras.



ओम देवी कात्यायन्यै नमः॥


स्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नम:।।

7. Kalratri

On the seventh day, we pray Devi Kalaratri. Mata  Nature has two extremes. One is terrifying and devastating. The other is beautiful and serene

Kalaratri represents the dark night. Night is also considered an aspect of Mother Divine as it is night that brings solace, rest and comfort to our souls. It is only at night that we get a glimpse of infinity in the skies. Devi Kalaratri is that infinite dark energy that houses innumerable universes.

By worshiping Devi Kalaratri, we can resolve our grievances and do better in life.


कालरात्र्यै नम:

8. Maha Gauri

 Mahagauri is the eighth form of mata and this divine is called as Mahagauri.

she is worshipped on Ashtami (the eighth day of Navratri). She is known by other names as well, including Shwetambardhara (dressed in white clothes), Vrisharudha (rides the bull), Chaturbhuji (has four hands) and Shambhavi (bestows bliss and happiness).

Goddess Mahagauri is supposed to be the 16-year-old unmarried form of Goddess Parvati. Goddess  Mahagauri represents wisdom, purity and calmness. She defeated all evil forces and help devotee overcome the evil forces within.  Devi Mahagauri gives blessings and boons that persons seek for material gains, so that you become content from within and move forward in life.


 ओम देवी महागौर्यै नमः।


On the ninth day, we worship Devi Siddhidatri.  Devi Siddhidatri brings perfection in life. She makes the impossible, possible. The last day of Navratri marks the significance of Goddess Siddhidatri. She presents all type of Siddhis to the disciples. She is recognized as Siddhidateri Mata. She is also known as Lakshmi Mata who symbolizes the happiness.


सिद्धगधर्व यक्षाद्यैरसुरैरमरैरपि।
सेव्यमाना सदा भूयात सिद्धिदा सिद्धिदायिनी।।

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.